History of The New Room
Event During December 2016
#
Thursday, 15 December at 7:30 PM
The Bristol Hippodrome choir perform a musical version of Charles Dickens' ‘A Christmas Carol’ Tickets on the door or in advance by emailing info@choirbristol.co.uk

Friday, 16 December at 1:00 PM
Carols and Communion - an opportunity to reflect on the Christmas story

Friday, 16 December at 6:00 PM
Carols by Candlelight at The New Room

Friday, 23 December at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Mandy Briggs after which the New Room will close until Tuesday 3rd January

Saturday, 24 December at 4:00 PM
The New Room is CLOSED today

Sunday, 25 December at 4:00 PM
The New Room is CLOSED today

Monday, 26 December at 4:00 PM
The New Room is CLOSED today

Tuesday, 27 December at 4:00 PM
The New Room is CLOSED today

Wednesday, 28 December at 4:00 PM
The New Room is CLOSED today

Thursday, 29 December at 4:00 PM
The New Room is CLOSED today

Friday, 30 December at 4:00 PM
The New Room is CLOSED today

Saturday, 31 December at 4:00 PM
The New Room is CLOSED today

Event During January 2017
#
Sunday, 01 January at 4:00 PM
The New Room is CLOSED today

Monday, 02 January at 4:00 PM
The New Room is CLOSED today

Tuesday, 03 January at 10:00 AM
The New Room is OPEN today

View all Events

New Room Bristol


There follows extracts from the former official guidebook.


The History

John Wesley came to Bristol in 1739 at the invitation of George Whitefield, who asked him to take over his work of preaching to the open air crowds which he had gathered. Wesley preached his first open air sermon in this country on April 2nd in a Brickfield in St. Philip’s Marsh and continued this work later at Hanham Mount and several other places. Religious Societies in Bristol then increased in size, and on May 9th Wesley bought the land and on May 12th laid the foundation stone of what he called "our New Room in the Horsefair", which was built as a place to expound the Scriptures to the Societies. It is thus the first Methodist building in the world.

When the Societies were united here, they became the first Society fully under Wesley’s control. In 1742 it became the first Society to be divided into Classes with Leaders. In 1748 the building was enlarged and to some extent reconstructed.


Click here for pagetop


Designed & Hosted by Designed and hosted by the Whats on Group: www.whatsongroup.co.uk