History of The New Room
Event During June 2016
#
Event During July 2016
#
Friday, 01 July at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Gordon James

Friday, 08 July at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Caroline Carter

Friday, 08 July at 1:20 PM
Lunchtime Concert Nigel Nash with students from Red Maids School

Friday, 15 July at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd David Weeks

Friday, 22 July at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Roger Walton - President of Methodist Conference

Friday, 22 July at 1:20 PM
Lunchtime Concert with Tim Foder organ

Friday, 29 July at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Mandy Briggs

Event During August 2016
#
Friday, 05 August at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Phil Hewett

Saturday, 06 August at 7:30 PM
Concert with Nick Tall with colleagues from Wells Cathedral School

Friday, 12 August at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Mandy Briggs

Friday, 19 August at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Hilary Cooke

Friday, 26 August at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd David Weeks

Event During September 2016
#
Friday, 02 September at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd David Weeks

Friday, 09 September at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Mandy Briggs

Friday, 16 September at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Ian Cramb

Friday, 23 September at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Dilwyn Edwards

Friday, 30 September at 1:00 PM
Holy Communion Service led by Revd Hilary Cooke

View all Events

New Room Bristol


There follows extracts from the former official guidebook.


The History

John Wesley came to Bristol in 1739 at the invitation of George Whitefield, who asked him to take over his work of preaching to the open air crowds which he had gathered. Wesley preached his first open air sermon in this country on April 2nd in a Brickfield in St. Philip’s Marsh and continued this work later at Hanham Mount and several other places. Religious Societies in Bristol then increased in size, and on May 9th Wesley bought the land and on May 12th laid the foundation stone of what he called "our New Room in the Horsefair", which was built as a place to expound the Scriptures to the Societies. It is thus the first Methodist building in the world.

When the Societies were united here, they became the first Society fully under Wesley’s control. In 1742 it became the first Society to be divided into Classes with Leaders. In 1748 the building was enlarged and to some extent reconstructed.


Click here for pagetop


Designed & Hosted by Designed and hosted by the Whats on Group: www.whatsongroup.co.uk